Monday, August 29, 2011

What was "Punk Rock"???

well. i was a little fucktard when "Nevermind the Bollocks" came out, and got it from a friend of mine that i used to smoke pot and steal beer with. I had been listening to Sabbath, Floyd, Judas Priest, and whatever was around that had some balls to it. I remember reading about the Pistols in newspapers, magazines, and metal zines. I remember pulling the vinyl out of it's sleeve, and putting it on my record player. What happened over the next 30 minutes or so would define my personality for the rest of my days.

They were loud, obnoxious, rude, but likeable and easily relateable to kids my age. We were a bunch of little stoners, full of pent-up anger, and their music and sound and lyrics struck a chord in me like none other. From the opening stomp of those boots to that farting sound at the end of EMI, I was hooked. Songs about looney chicks getting an abortion? Attacking the government? Steve Jones with those chunky, slidey riffs that NO ONE was doing before him? Um, yeah...I was all in.

And so now it's 2011. Punk is pretty much dead, unless you go to little matinee shows or myspace. I have seen a few good new bands on the scene, Razorblade Suitcase being the best of the new breed. But for the most part, the music, as well as the feeling behind it, is gone. And in it's place we have...what, Rap? Really? Every one of the songs are about the same thing, there is no originality, and no one plays instruments or stands up for what they perceive as government wrongs. No wonder kids today are turning to shooting each other for thrills.

And here I am, still being that snotty, don't give a fuck about anything drinking drugging fighting asshole that i was back then. I ain't never gunna change, I get to say, at the end of the day, I did it MY way. Can YOU?

Oh and BTW-Blondie and the Ramones were NEVER punk. New York had it's own music movement, NYHC, but that's another subject for another wasted night. I really wish there were some people around to go get wasted with...break some shit, get into a fight...





No comments:

Post a Comment